USL announces new season structure

The USL Championship publicized an updated format for its upcoming 2020 campaign as its 35 teams across the United States prepare for the league’s return to play on July 11.

All USL Championship teams will be drawn into eight total groups based on regions to play a 16-game schedule. Five of the groups will be comprised of four teams and three of the groups will have five teams to take into consideration both location and travel.

The regular season will be played out over 13 weeks, including a planned July 11 start and the conclusion of the playoffs on the weekend of Oct. 2-4. Games that were played out before the COVID-19 halt will, in fact, count toward points in the table.

In terms of playoffs, the top two teams from each group will advance to the 2020 USL Championship Playoffs, resulting in a 16-team field that will play a regional single-elimination bracket.

Regional group winners will be paired with group runners-up in the Round of 16 and home advantage will be determined by total points for the rest of the playoff bracket.

The Legion will participate in the Eastern Conference’s Group G alongside Charlotte Independence, Memphis 901 FC and North Carolina FC.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *